Curtain Makeover

 

DIY White Drop Cloth Curtains

Raise your hand if you have ever been a victim of over priced curtains. If you’re a victim, I honestly feel your pain. I love my windows in my living room, but finding curtains was such a pain in the butt. I could never find a length I was pleased with, and I could never commit to a color or pattern that I liked for my living room.

So, what do I do when I’m in a hunch? I get on Pinterest to solve my issues. I think I searched “cheap DIY curtain ideas”, and I found drop cloth curtains. If you know me, you know I get excited, sometimes do not do my research and do the thing anyway. Well, that’s what I did. Annnnd……..

IMG_1682IMG_1681

My intention was good ya’ll. You see the bottom section? I thought I could be super creative and add in some kind of pattern. WELL. I ended up sewing rod pocket curtains, and let’s just say, the curtains did not move, well I should say they COULD NOT move. Ya’ll the material was so stiff and hard to maneuver so I literally just left my curtains like they were…I didn’t close them, I didn’t open them, I left them as you see in the picture.

SO..I hopped on Pinterest again, and I learned that you need to prep this material before you use it. BUT, I also learned that this material can also be bleached to make it white! I was so excited. The color in my living room is kind of beige, so I thought that a whiter material would make the room look softer.

So here’s what you will need to do:

-Go to Home Depot and get some drop cloth material.

987edbd0e7722a50eabb300dc16ff51a

-Buy curtain rings! You won’t regret it! 

-Measure your windows. I like my curtains to touch the ground. If you want to add a valance, give yourself 4-6 inches of extra material. This material really does not need to be cut and hemmed unless you have a tricky window measurement. If that’s the case, cut and hem, baby!

-Once you are measured out, WASH YOUR MATERIAL. If you do not want to bleach your curtains, wash it twice, then when the material is damp, run your iron over it on the highest setting on steam. This helps get out the wrinkles. DO NOT DRY! Allow your material time to air dry.

-If you want to bleach your material, go buy a couple of gallons of bleach. Fill your washer with water and pour about half of the bleach into the water. Agitate it every so often, and let it soak for 6-8 hours. After I bleached my material, I washed it with regular soap and fabric softener! DO NOT DRY. Let it air dry and once it is damp, run your iron over it on the highest setting on steam. This helps get out the wrinkles. 

-Once your material is dry and ready, hang the babies! You can create a valance, or you can just hang them as is. 

-ENJOY!

I love how my curtains turned out. I can move them this time around, and they are soooo soft. You will also see that I lowered my curtain rod. With the lowered curtains and the whiter material, it brings a softness to the room.

IMG_1677IMG_1678IMG_1679

 

Don’t be a victim of over priced curtains! Do them yourself, and fall in love with the end product. You can do it!

-H

 

Leave a Reply

