Thrift Store Finds

thrift store find 1

Do any of you have a strategy when you go into thrift stores? I can’t be the only one that has a “thrift store strategy”. Here’s my strategy: I look on Pinterest, find decor ideas, screenshot the ideas, then go into Goodwill to search for the materials I need.

So, for this Goodwill haul, let me show you what Pinterest inspiration I walked in with.

I’ve been dying to find a box to put glass bottles in to decorate my table or island. I have also been looking for some new glassware for my coffee station. So, I took these pictures with me into Goodwill, and while I was looking at the odds and ends in the store, I had the pictures pulled up to see if I could work with what I found.

thrift store find 2

I found this little creamer glass and another little clear glass with a lid, that I thought would be perfect for my coffee station. I bought them for $0.99! I took them outside and I spray painted them white. Once they dried, I used my cricut to create labels for the glassware. I also used my thrift store find of the white, Pyrex bowl for a base for a boxwood floral ball I got at Hobby Lobby. That name brand bowl cost me a total of a dollar and some odd cents.

thrift store find 5

I fell in love with the end product! Cheap, simple, and doable. I love Goodwill. Nothing some spray paint and TLC can’t fix. Next, I wanted to find a box to put some flowers in, and I found this one.

Yes ladies and gentlemen, that is a cat. I guess I fell in love with the quirkiness of it, so I had to buy it. It cost me the total of a whopping dollar, so I figured I’d take a chance with this little guy. I originally wanted to do a dark wood type of centerpiece, but my kitchen table is brown, so I decided I wanted to white wash the wood, which sounds complicated, but it is far from complicated!

thrift store find 3

This is all you need to whitewash wood! White paint, a cup of water, and a paint brush. Here are the directions: Sand the wood you are wanting to whitewash. Put equal amounts of water and white paint into a cup. Stir the contents. Paint. Re-do coats until you have reached the color you want.

Boom. It’s that easy!

thrift store find 4

This is my finished product. The kitty faces are gone and the color of the pine wood is, too! I originally had some mason jars I was going to fit into the centerpiece, but they were too wide, so I went to one of my favorite places in the word, Hobby Lobby, and found some “milk jars” which fit perfectly inside my centerpiece.

thrift store find 6

Perfect. I can change out the flowers with the seasons. It’s dainty, it’s cute, and it was cheap!

thrift store find 7thrift store find 8thrift store find 9

I’m in love with the simplicity of this project. I intend on redoing the candle sticks, so that will be another project to look out for!

I encourage you to go out, look, and be inspired! TLC and spray paint go a long way! Don’t feel the need to spend tons of money on dream decor. Make it! If you have questions about Goodwill scavenging or DIY decor, shoot me an email. I would love to assist you.

Email: farmhousecasa@gmail.com

Happy crafting!

-H

2 thoughts on “Thrift Store Finds

Leave a Reply

