Oil and Vinegar Shelf

d6ac0e35a209f6d285c77530f6ccd14c

I stumbled across this pin a while ago. While I loved the idea, I realized that my cabinets hang too low for me to place oil and vinegar bottles on a shelf. That kind of bummed me out, but I still loved the idea of having a shelf to put over my stove to decorate! So if you want to a shelf to put oil, vinegar, and spices on, here ya go, but if you want a shelf just for the sake of having a shelf to decorate, here ya go, too!

This is a really easy project and can be completed in a day! So get your drills, screws, stain, and wood and get crafting!

Supply list:

  • 2 2x4s
  • 1 1×4 (What I have pictured is not a 1×4- I changed my mind in the middle of building the shelf, this wood is thinner than what is pictured so it gives me more room to decorate!)
  • Drill
  • Stain of your choice
  • Screws
  • Tape measure
  • Sander
  • Sand paper

What you will want to do first is measure the length of the top of your oven for the top of the shelf. You do not want to measure it exactly. Give yourself an extra inch or half an inch on both sides so you have plenty of room to slide the completed shelf over the oven. Write that measurement down. Then go ahead and measure how tall you want your shelf to be. Again you do not want to measure exact. Give yourself a little wiggle room. For my shelf, I gave myself about a centimeter to work with. Write that measurement down.

IMG_1102.JPG

My kitchen pre-shelf. Notice the little room I have under my cabinets. *sigh*

Next, you will want to cut your wood. You can certainly have the people at Home Depot do it, or you can do it yourself at home with a miter saw. Then, sand your wood. Sand the wood until your hands can run over the wood and it not feel rough.

It is now time to assemble! Get your drill. Your screws. And a hammer? Don’t know why that is in the mix, but hey, it made the photo cut! (; You can easily set your pieces of wood over the oven and mark where you need to drill in the screws. Use a pilot hole for your wood, trust me, you’ll thank me for that extra step. Then, drill in your screws. I used 3-inch screws, but 2-inch screws would work well with a 1×4 top!

IMG_1105.JPG

After it is assembled, stain it! Allow your stain to dry an hour before you re-coat.

FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender_1

Once you are finished, set up the shelf and get to decorating…or putting oil and vinegar bottles on it! I found the ampersand sign at Michael’s. It was a whopping total of $1.95. The little potted greenery was also found at Michael’s, it was 50% off which made my total of that potted greenery a whopping three dollars! I did trim the little guy down so he would fit under my small space. The clear bowls and the plate were found at my local Goodwill. I posted photos of my Goodwill finds on my Instagram, (which you should totally check out)! Last, but not least, it is a perfect place to put my pepper, salt, and house seasoning.

Now, maybe I can talk R into raising my cabinets so I can decorate it more! (;

If you have time, check out the gram!

https://www.instagram.com/farmhousecasa/?hl=en

Happy crafting!

-H

Leave a Reply

